Help Understanding Graves

Thyroid HUG
Surviving Graves Disease

Together finding strength for tomorrow!

Forum

Forum Home > The Lounge > Dieting - Please help

elvina

I was diagnosed with GD last June and put onto Carbimazole which is working well and I now take 10mg per day. Before being diagnosed I had been dieting, The Fast Diet, and my weight was coming down nicely. Since being on Carbimazole all my weight loss has pretty much gone back on and I am back on The Fast Diet but it just isnt working and I dont seem to be able to shift any weight. I have also increased my exercise to try to help. Are there any diets that work better with carbimazole please? Can anyone make any suggestions please to help me to shed this weight which I hate and which is making me feel really low? Many thanks

February 16, 2016 at 4:26 AM Flag Quote & Reply

anamcharaid
Hi Elvina, I have just read your post, I am new to he site and forum. I was first diagnosed with Graves 10 years ago and went into remission after treatment with Carbimazole. Unfortunately I relapsed last year and put back on Carbimazole. I have just had radioactive iodine 6 days ago. Despite being hyper for two episodes I had not been successful in keeping weight down, though I am now 56 and that could be down to my age etc. the best I have felt physically though (I also gave fibromyalgia which is also an auto immune condition and could well be a mask for the Graves) was when I followed a mostly paleo diet as this for me seemed to help reduce the impact on my body and immune system of foods that are not "natural" etc. basically it's protein from meat, fish and nuts, carbs from nut butters, leafy vegs and some root vegs, drinks is mostly water! Which can be a bind socially. people seem to find it hard when you are not eating the usual social foods and outside the house it can be hard to find things to eat that keep me on track... Everything is pasta, pastry, sandwiches and coffee!!! Times when I have fallen off the wag